Notes from my mother about Lillie CHAMBERS and Lee MILLER

This information is from handwritten pages my mother wrote in a notebook probably around 1954 (based on the other pages in the notebook). Her grandmother Lillie Marks CHAMBERS MILLER died in 1956. [I have seen Lillie also spelled Lily in different documents and at different times–even by my mother!]

I have added additional notes [using brackets] from things my mother told me when I was a teenager and first became interested in our family history.

John Leland “Lee” MILLER family, L-R: Gene, Lee, Lyle, Lillie–about 1905, in Oregon
Lillie Marks CHAMBERS
  • born in Bates County, Missouri 9 June 1870
  • Since Marks is Lillie’s middle name MARKS might be a family name
  • Two brothers–Arthur and John
  • Two sisters–Ida and Emma
  • Went to teacher’s college in Bates County, Missouri [later my Mom called this a Normal school–which I learned is the name for schools which taught teachers]
  • School was a private school at that time
  • Lillie and Arthur traveled to Oregon
  • Arthur had a mine at Black Butte in Grant County, Oregon & later homesteaded in Fox Valley
  • Arthur went to Portland, got sick there and died at St. Vincent’s Hospital
  • Lillie taught school [in Grant County, Oregon], met Lee MILLER and they were married 14 September 1895
  • Lillie and Lee’s children–Lyle–my grandfather–(born 11 July 1896 in Canyon City, Oregon), Gene (in 1900) and Joe–J.C. (in 1908)
Lee MILLER
  • Family came across the plains to Oregon
  • They were a pioneer family that settled near Creswell, Oregon
  • His mother’s maiden name was Douglas
  • Douglas County and Douglas Cemetery near Creswell was named for them
  • There were two brothers–Lee and Cyrus [I’m not sure if my mother meant there were two sons or that Lee MILLER had two brothers in which case she may have written down “Lee” instead of the other brother’s name]
  • Lee MILLER had a livery stable in Canyon City, Grant County, Oregon
  • Mom thought the livery stable burned down and the family moved to Izee, Grant County, Oregon
  • Later they moved to Paulina, Crook County, Oregon and had a store there that went broke at some point
  • Lee MILLER died when Lyle was 16
  • Lillie started teaching school again and taught for many years in rural communities in Crook County, Oregon.
  • Lillie thought one brother lived near Denver

Next I will write about the information in the notebook Mom wrote about Lillie’s grandfather and family.

I will come back to Lee and Lillie’s family with information I’ve found in records and try to prove or disprove these notes.

I love comments! I will answer your comment and if you have a blog I'll try to visit your blog.

