More about me

My name is Jan and I’ve been interested in genealogy and family history since I was a teenager. I still have the notes I made when my mother told me about her grandparents and then my dad telling me about his family. I have done genealogy research off and on when I had time through the years.

My research

I’m doing research for both my family and my husband’s family. The main names I’m researching are: VALLEY, MILLER, JOHNSON, McCULLOUGH, LACKERMANN, BARR, SCHWARTZ, CULLEN and HARRINGTON. My family heritage is Norwegian, Swedish, German, Irish and maybe English and Scottish. My husband’s heritage is Irish, German and Czech.

Retirement

Now that my husband and I are retired I have more time for research and began researching again in 2017. Many people in my family emigrated from Europe and came to the Midwest so the fact that my husband and I retired in Iowa is helpful. I grew up in Oregon and part of my family traveled on the Oregon Trail to arrive in Oregon in 1847. Others arrived in Oregon in the late 1800’s and others in the early 1900’s. Many of my husband’s family stayed in the Midwest.

What I want to talk about

On this blog I plan to talk about the discoveries I have already made as well as the ones I’m making now. I want to include the family stories passed down in our families as well as genealogical records and the history of the areas our families lived in. I won’t talk much about the living members of the family unless family members want to contribute to this blog or unless I get to meet cousins through this blog or through my family trees I have on the internet or through my DNA testing.

Please comment!

I hope my family will decide to comment and/or write a short piece for this blog. I hope anyone else reading this blog will comment on what I write and let me know how I’m doing. I love comments (even if you tell me I’ve made a mistake, you don’t understand what I wrote or think it’s hogwash)!

Moore Genealogy

Fun With Genealogy

Genealogy Lady

Connecting history to the present generation

Genealogist Journal

A journey to recover the past

The Family Kalamazoo

A genealogical site devoted to the history of the DeKorn and Zuidweg families of Kalamazoo and the Mulder family of Caledonia

The Genealogy Guys Podcast & Genealogy Connection

discovering my family stories, history and genealogy

Genealogy's Star

discovering my family stories, history and genealogy

Jana's Genealogy and Family History Blog

discovering my family stories, history and genealogy

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter

This is the most popular online genealogy magazine in the world, as measured by Alexa.

DNAeXplained - Genetic Genealogy

Discovering Your Ancestors - One Gene at a Time

Remember the families

discovering my family stories, history and genealogy

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

%d bloggers like this: